eng   рус   deu
Call us: +374 99 547272
Back to IncomingTours home page
Back to IncomingTours home page
Back to IncomingTours home page
Home :: Republic of Mountainous Karabakh
Republic of Mountainous Karabakh

Official name: 
Republic of Mountainous Karabakh (Artsakh).
Republic of Mountainous Karabakh

Capital: Stepanakert, population is nearly 51 000 poeple.
Population: 140 000, 98 % of Armenians, 40 % of urban population (2009). There are 10 cities, 217 rural settlements.
Distance from Yerevan to Stepanakert: 330 km
Territory: The territory is about 12 000 sq. km according to RMK Constitution and the cease-fire agreement between RMK and Azerbaijan starting from 12th May, 1994. At present the region of Shahumyan, some part of Martakert and Martuni regions are occupied by Azerbaijan.
Administrative Division: RMK is divided by 8 administrative regions: Kashatagh, Martakert, Shahumyan, Askeran, Martuni, Hadrut, Shushi and the city of Stepanakert.
Governmental and Administrative Bodies: According to the Constitution of RMK accepted in 2007, the head of the state is the President, elected by people's direct vote for period of five years. The same person may not be chosen as a President for more than two periods. The President is the chief executive authority and supreme commander-in-chief. He appoints the Prime Minister, approves the structure and composition of the Government. The presidential form of government was introduced in RMK in December,
Flag of Nagorno Karabakh
1994. The highest legislative and representative body of republic is the unicameral National Assembly. The laws adopted by the National Assembly are signed by the President.  The National Assembly performs its activities by organizing sessions, permanent and temporary committees, as well by activities of its deputies. The members of the Parliament are elected for the period of five years. The chairman of the NationalAssembly is elected by the majority of voices in a closed election. The executive body of RMK isthe Government, headed by the Prime Minister. The Government consists of eleven ministries: Ministry of Healthcare, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of Education and Science, Ministry of Culture and Youth Affairs, Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Social Security, Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry of Urban Development, Ministry of Finance, as well as the minister, who is the chief of the governmental apparatus.

Also there are eleven state bodies operating: Department of Tourism, National Security Service, State Committee of Real Estate Cadastre, State Tax Service, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, RMK Police, Department e of Water Industry, State Committee of Sports, Rescue Service.
Coat of arms of Nagorno Karabakh
The Jusicial system:Two-level judicial system functions in RMK: court of first instance, Supreme Court, which also performs the functions of Constitutional Court.
National Symbology:

National Flag of RMK is a rectangular width consisting of three horizontal stripes: upper - red, middle - blue, lower - orange. On the two sides of the right part of the flag there is a white five-cogged stepped carpet pattern, joining itself at the one-third part of the width. The ratio of the width and the height of the RMK flag is 1:2 (60X120 cm).
State Emblem of RMK represents itself an image of an eagle with open wings, above which some beams of sun disperse themselves and the crown of the Artashessyan dynasty is presented. In the center there is the image of well-known sculpture "We and our mountains" with the national flag of RMK and mountain Kirs on its background. Below, bunches of grapes, fruits of mulberry, ears of wheat are in the claws of the eagle. In the top semicircle «Republic of Mountainous Karabakh - Artsakh» inscription is made in Armenian.

Mountains: Artsakh range, Mrav range, Artsakh highland, Karkar 3208m, Sotk pass 2400m, Giamish3724m, Mets Beveratap 3616m, Tsghuk 3584m, Tsarasar 3428m, Katar 3008m, Tsitsernakar 3182m
Lakes:  Sarsang
Rivers:  Vorotan, Hakari, Voghji, Tsav, Arax, Khachenaget, Karkar, Tartar, Tuthun, Shalva, Hochants
Stepanakert:  Mairaberd or Askeran fortress. Avetaranots church, Melik Sahnazar's House
Shushi:  Gharanchetsots Cathedral, 1867-1887. Kanach Jham. Old city wall.
Vank:  Gandzasar monastery, 1216-1238.
Gandzasar is the most exquisite monastery of Karabakh. Located in the north, atop the green hill which climbs above the village of Vank, it has been restored and is a fully functioning monastery. Gandzasar has some of the nicest carvings and details typical for many Armenian monasteries. Each stone is well thought out, and the decorations are a pleasure to discover throughout the complex. Being a functioning monastery means there are priests there who are happy to give tours of the monastery, as well as discuss church issues in general.
Khndzristan:  Kachaghakaberd fortress, 9th c.
Rev Village:  St.Gevorg monastery, 16th c.
Kolatak:  St.Hakob or Metsaranist monastery, 8 -18th cc.
Machkalashen:  Amaras monastery, 5 - 18th cc.
Togh:  Togh is a historical village. There are some nice examples of traditional architecture in the homes as well. St. Stepanos, 13 -18th cc. Anapat, 18th c., St. Hovhannes, 13 -18th cc.
Azokh:  Azokh Cave, Remains of Neanderthal man have been found here as well as 3.000 year old art and tools.
Mataghis:  Yeghish Arakial monastery, 5 -13th cc.
Dadivank:  Dadivank monastery, 5-13th cc.
Historical monuments out of domiciles:  Gtichavank, 10 -13th cc., Vankasar monastery, 7th c., Handaberd fortress, 5th c., Handaberd monastery, 13 -14th cc., Tsitsernavank, 5th c., Caravanserai, 13 -18th cc., Handaberd monastery, 13 -14th cc.

Related Tours to Karabakh:

The Secrets Of Karabagh

Hero City Shushi